I think I have a personality disorder. Advice?

• 57 results

This topic is locked from further discussion.

Avatar image for VanHelsingBoA64
VanHelsingBoA64

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 VanHelsingBoA64
Member since 2007 • 5455 Posts

I've been doing online research for the past several months and I strongly believe I have Avoidant Personality Disorder. The problem is I am not sure how to get help.

Just last month I tried talking to my dad about it but he didn't even want to know the name of the disorder. He started telling me about how he was quiet, shy, had only a few friends, etc. when he was my age and I didn't need to worry. He also told me that seeing the counselor would just make life more complicated.

Now with my mom dead and our family hardly ever getting in contact with others I don't know who to turn to. So, I'm asking you guys, what would be my best option?

I'm not so sure about asking my counselor, because I've only spoken to him on one occasion for less than a minute. That and I don't know how I should say once I do go to his office.

GHlegend77

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

#2 GHlegend77
Member since 2009 • 10328 Posts
[QUOTE="VanHelsingBoA64"]

I've been doing online research for the past several months and I strongly believe I have Avoidant Personality Disorder. The problem is I am not sure how to get help.

Just last month I tried talking to my dad about it but he didn't even want to know the name of the disorder. He started telling me about how he was quiet, shy, had only a few friends, etc. when he was my age and I didn't need to worry. He also told me that seeing the counselor would just make life more complicated.

Now with my mom dead and our family hardly ever getting in contact with others I don't know who to turn to. So, I'm asking you guys, what would be my best option?