iPhone 7 Reveal Likely Coming Just Hours Before PS4 Neo's

Big news expected from Apple and Sony on September 7.

52 Comments

September 7 is going to be a big day in the world of consumer electronics.

Apple today sent out media invitations for an event to be held that day in San Francisco where it's expected the company will announce the iPhone 7. It could also reveal a new Apple Watch, according to GameSpot sister site CNET, which obtained the invitation from Apple.

No Caption Provided

September 7 is also the day of Sony's PlayStation news event in New York City where the company is widely expected to formally announce PlayStation Neo and maybe a slimmed-down PlayStation 4.

Apple's event starts that day at 10 AM PT / 1 PM ET, while Sony's PlayStation conference is slated for 12 PM PT / 3 PM ET. GameSpot will bring you all the news from both events as it's announced.

The newest rumor is that the iPhone 7 will have a nearly identical external design to the 6S and feature an improved camera. Controversially, it may also do away with the headphone jack, though this is not confirmed.

There hasn't been an Apple Watch update since the device launched in April 2015, but another rumor says a new model could feature GPS-tracking support, among other new features.

For more on the latest Apple news and rumors, head to CNET.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 52 comments about this story