Is D-Day, saving private ryan realistic?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

slicknet

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 slicknet
Member since 2003 • 2627 Posts

Watching it right now, can't help but feel its got a good bit of hollywood hype, well there is no covering fire from the sea or air, no smoke cover, Must have known about the axis defences on the beach. Surely allies must have to give their soliders the best chance possible of survival, slack?

No use in talking about all this now but its such a powerful opening in SPR and it would be nice to know how realistic this really is. It seems like one German machine gun vs the whole allied army, and they cant take these out by air before the landing = daft?

Band of Brothers > Saving Private Ryan.

Dark__Link

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2 Dark__Link
Member since 2003 • 32653 Posts
I'm a WWII veteran and yes, SPR's D-Day scene was almost perfectly realistic.
Mumbles527

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3 Mumbles527
Member since 2004 • 7706 Posts
It was very realistic. How do you expect them to cover miles of beach before they even get there?
RiSkyBiZ-13

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 5

#4 RiSkyBiZ-13
Member since 2007 • 1448 Posts
Read a history book, then make a decision.
LoG-Sacrament

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 33

#5 LoG-Sacrament
Member since 2006 • 20397 Posts
history is how spielbergwants it :P
slicknet

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#6 slicknet

history is how spielbergwants it :PLoG-Sacrament

correct

tekmojo

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 5

#7 tekmojo
Member since 2006 • 1425 Posts
They interviewed surviving WWII Vets for this movie, after completing it they described it as being eeriely accurate.
Cedric169

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 3

#8 Cedric169
Member since 2005 • 2138 Posts