Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 7

User Lists: 0

#1 Ninja-Hippo
Member since 2008 • 23434 Posts

Discuss.

*BOOM* Controversial statement. I just saw an ad for Mass Effect 3 quoting one review saying 'Absolutely amazing!' I recall an ad for Uncharted 3 which quoted a review as 'incredible on every level.' IGN called it a masterpiece. Kevin Van Ord practically had to change his pants in his review for Metal Gear Solid 4.

*Nostalgia glasses* I thought Ocarina of time was incredible. I drooled like a baby when i first played Halo. I thought Final Fantasy VII was as good as a videogame could ever get. I invited all of my friends over just to stare in disbelief at Half Life 2.

I don't know if it's the games, or me, but this gen i've had no experiences like that. Nothing even close, to be honest. When i look back at the big hitters; Gears of War, Halo XYZ, Uncharted, MGS4, Mass Effect. They're all great games, but they all kinda suck at the same time. They're all games i could write a whole thread praising and a whole thread tearing to pieces for being so horrible.

Maybe the standard has gotten so good that videogames now seem less impressive and less special. Or maybe standards have slipped and videogames really are of inferior quality.

GUFU's thoughts?

CJL13

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 8

#2 CJL13
Member since 2005 • 19137 Posts

I think everyone prefers the first games they played because at the time it was a whole new thing. I still love Spyro the Dragon despite the fact that its aged horribly, I love FFX despite what everyone else says. In fact I dislike most of the games you posted despite how good they were back in the day. Everyone loves the first game/movie/book/etc. and compares everything that comes after to it.

Avatar image for organic_machine
organic_machine

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

#3 organic_machine
Member since 2004 • 10141 Posts