Your best and worst game endings

This topic is locked from further discussion.

Rebecca_Lessay

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 Rebecca_Lessay
Member since 2006 • 25 Posts

Hi people,

My name is Rebecca and I'm a game-design student. Lately I've been trying to come up with new game ideas. But now I seem to have gotten stuck at thinking of goals for games. Mainly the ending of an ingame-story. For inspiration I looked to some of my favorite games and see how they did it. Unfortunatly not all of these games had such good endings.

This brings me to my question: Which game ending did you like best and which game ending made you want to demand a refund?

I'm really curious to your opinions! 

Rebecca_Lessay

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2 Rebecca_Lessay
Member since 2006 • 25 Posts

For best game ending I have to go with a MOD that was made for the Dragon Age game. [SPOILERS]During the game you had the option of romancing your travel companions. In a certain ending you could even marry the new King Alistair and become the new Queen. What I didn't like, and I guess a lot of other people didn't like was that the whole wedding ceremony was only shown through a block of text.

Later the Mod "DahliaLynn's Alistair Epilogues" came out and featured your character marrying Alistair in a cutscene.[/SPOILERS]

For worst endings Fable 2 and 3 come up to mind.[SPOILERS] The story was fine even if you only had to grind a few hours to finish it but end-battles were so unmemorable I had to google it to refresh my memory. Imagine actually spending a lot of time bonding with the game only to have the supposedly-biggest-strongest-villain in the game be killed with one lousy shot. It was disappointing to say the least.[/SPOILERS]

garywood69

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3 garywood69
Member since 2013 • 518 Posts

I don't think I'm alone in saying that my all time favourite video game ending was FFX's. Just unbelievably sad but still