Welcome to brand new age

This topic is locked from further discussion.

bizarro890

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

Edited By bizarro890
Member since 2003 • 25 Posts

GameStop's president Bartel's concern is evidence of his uncertainty in his own company's future in a ever increasingly digitally accessible world. Read about it here.

If I'm buying an AAA on release day, or pre-ordering it, I expect to pay about $60 from a digital retailer. I also expect it to hold that price for a while before the price falls. I have a PC so Steam is super convenient and it beats waiting in line for hours to ensure purchase of a copy. If I ever get a console, purchasing a new release online or digitally is still more convenient then then getting my ass down to the brick-and-mortar retailers. I'm a student and I barely have enough time to play as it is much less find the time to travel to a physical retailer.

However, convenience does not trump price when it comes to deciding to acquire a game. I still have to want it, and I mean badly, in order for me purchase a game for the full $60 starting price. There have been three or four releases like that this year. As for the rest, I wait until the price lowers or I acquire the game by "other" means and then wait for the price to fall before purchasing the game. All of my acquisitions happen digitally.

Bartel's concern seems to be about the profitability of his current role in the media retail world. Maybe he hasn't noticed, but the media industry has made significant moves to make their products available online and without any indication of regressing back to the traditional brick-and-mortar stores. But his fears seem about attributed to the changing world of media and the current ability of his company to remain relevant.