Why the lack of damage in most racing games?

• 105 results
emgesp

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 emgesp
Member since 2004 • 7848 Posts

Am I the only one annoyed with the lack of realistic car damage in most racing games?

Destruction Derby was released all the way back in 1995 on the PS1 and it has better car damage than 90% of the racing games that have been released in the past 20+ yrs.

Project Cars still can't get it right. Sure its better than Gran Turismo, but the cars still seem like they are built with armor. A car hitting a wall at 100MPH would cause some serious damage, yet in most racing games the cars just bounce back with just a few scrapes.

I'm no programmer, but is the technology just not there yet to give us realistic car damage in modern racing games?

Star67

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 29

#2 Star67
Member since 2005 • 5168 Posts

Because car manufacturers don't want their cars being torn to bits. That's why. Movies are the same except for old cars. Ever wonder why the Audis in Transporter movies always look good?

emgesp

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3 emgesp

@Star67 said:

Because car manufacturers don't want their cars being torn to bits. That's why. Movies are the same except for old cars. Ever wonder why the Audis in Transporter movies always look good?

Where is the proof behind this claim?

I assumed it was because it would make the game slightly harder and kinda force you to get good at the game.

The_Stand_In

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

#4 The_Stand_In
Member since 2010 • 1179 Posts