Here is hard evidence that Mark Cerny is full of bullsh@t, just a lot of bullsh@t this lying fak

• 60 results
Xplode_games

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By Xplode_games
Member since 2011 • 2540 Posts

Does anyone remember the PS5 reveal video with Mark Cerny? This guy went on and on and on about how the approach of fewer CUs at a high clock speed were better than more CUs at lower clock speed. He explained it really well too I guess.

I'm not a programmer but as a PC gamer that sh$t didn't make sense to me because I overclock graphics cards and it doesn't really do much. Yes sometimes it matters a little but the more you increase the lesser you gain and the more power it draws and the more it f&cks up your card and system and causes problems no matter how many hours you test it stable.

The better idea is buy the card you need for the performance you want and then do a mild overclock and that will give you modest performance gains and not too much more power draw or heat or anything.

For a console it makes all the sense in the world to create one with more CUs at less clock speeds. Because it you can turn off cores to get better yields as Microsoft did with the Series X, 60 cores, 52 active for better yields. Also the clock speed is high but not crazy super high so the system will stay cool and have a very long lifespan.

The PS5 has a dumb approach but it makes sense. The approach is lesser CUs at a very high crazy higher, higher than overclocked PC Radeon cards with the same chips high. And Mark Cerny claims this was done because it's the more intelligent better approach.