What are the pros and cons of using crossfire and SLI?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

Avatar image for Stunneronureyez
Stunneronureyez

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 Stunneronureyez
Member since 2010 • 506 Posts

I am new to this.What are all the advantages and disadvantages?

eBusiness

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 8

#2 eBusiness
Member since 2009 • 405 Posts

I am new to this.What are all the advantages and disadvantages?

Stunneronureyez

Pro: More calculation power. Edit: Forgot, it also gives you a lot of e-peen, even more than a single card of double the calculation power.

Cons: Sometimes the **** doesn't work for no apparent reason beyond being an SLI or Crossfire setup. Two graphics cards cost more than one, they also draw more power.

JigglyWiggly_

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 4

#3 JigglyWiggly_
Member since 2009 • 24625 Posts
You need a really fast CPU for the fast cards, my qx6700 @ ~3.4 is a major bottleneck for my gtx 460s in SLI in some games. Pros: It's perty, more FPSSsss
Avatar image for blaznwiipspman1
blaznwiipspman1

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4 blaznwiipspman1
Member since 2007 • 16539 Posts

pros: can have the performance of the best cards on the market for about 2/3 the price

cons: power requirements are high, sometimes scaling isn't 100% depending on the game, need a really good PSU $$$

the idea is pretty simple. Say you buy two AMD 6950 1GB version for $250 each. The total comes to $500 but the performance in games is almost twice as powerful as a single 580 GTX. Thats the basic idea.

fishing666

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 4

#5 fishing666
Member since 2004 • 2113 Posts
cons outweigh pros for me definitely. the double power draw is enough for me to say no. there is also doubling in price and worst of all, performance is not doubled...it gets louder and hotter and it's just a bad experience.