Why do I suck so bad at online FPS games?????

This topic is locked from further discussion.

lucaso777

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By lucaso777
Member since 2016 • 7 Posts

Every game I play I'm generally pretty good at but when it comes to online FPSs it is about a half-second after I see someone that I'm dead and haven't even gotten on target. Specifically, I'm playing Destiny, and last night I shot a guy four times in the head but he just kept running around like nothing happened. Then he pulls out a pistol and just like that I'm a goner.

Am I missing something in the FPS development stage? I seriously end cruicible battles with like 7 deaths and no kills. I have a Master's degree for heaven's sakes, shouldn't I have the intelligence to figure out how to shoot someone (virtually - FBI spooks, virtually)!!!???!!!

MarcRecon

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 10

User Lists: 4

#2 MarcRecon
Member since 2009 • 8191 Posts

There's no sure fire formula, you just have to practice. Most shooters nowadays have a online and off-line bot mode. You might want to spend time playing with bots before you go live.

Plus it will give you time to get to know the maps and what weapons you are comfortable with.

Sushiglutton

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 7

#3 Sushiglutton
Member since 2009 • 9853 Posts

Have you tried finding some good player(s) on youtube and see what they are doing? Haven't played Destiny but there are a lot of good tips out there in general.

thehig1

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 5

#4 thehig1
Member since 2014 • 7537 Posts

I suck at them too, you not alone

csward

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 20

#5 csward
Member since 2005 • 2155 Posts

I like you am terrible at FPS games. The thing is there are a core skill set you have to have to be good at them: