Street Fighter 5's Second Beta Experiencing Matchmaking Issues

The beta will continue, but expect matchmaking to be very slow.

14 Comments

Related
Street Fighter V
Follow

Like its first beta in July, Street Fighter V's just-launched second public testing period is running into some issues. In a blog post, Capcom said matchmaking issues cropped up immediately after the beta went live.

No Caption Provided

"Unfortunately, several new issues arose last night in regards to our matchmaking system and the rate at which matches were made," Capcom said. "We are not confident that the matchmaking rate will improve significantly throughout the course of this beta period. That said, user experiences will vary."

Problems with the first Street Fighter V beta were so severe that Capcom pulled it down entirely, before eventually bringing it back. The plan for this new beta, however, is to run it as planned through October 25. Capcom admitted, though, that the beta will be "limited" and it "will not operate exactly as we intended."

Matchmaking will be very slow, the publisher warned. The complete Street Fighter V beta schedule is below, and note that the only way to get in is to preorder the game.

  • 10/21/15 18:00 PST (10/22 02:00 BST/10:00 JST) – The second SFV beta begins for PS4 users. Characters available: Ken, Necalli, Vega, R. Mika
  • 10/22/15 14:00 PST (22:00 BST/ 10/23 06:00 JST) – Servers down for scheduled maintenance for 12 hours.
  • 10/23/15 02:00 PST (10:00 BST/18:00 JST) – Servers back online. Rashid unlocked.
  • 10/23/15 09:00 PST (17:00 BST/ 10/24 01:00 JST) – The second SFV beta begins for both PC and PS4 users (cross-platform play).
  • 10/23/15 17:00 PST (10/24 01:00 BST/09:00 JST) – Karin unlocked.
  • 10/24/15 04:00 PST (12:00 BST/20:00 JST) – Servers down for scheduled maintenance for 10 hours.
  • 10/24/15 14:00 PST (22:00 BST/ 10/25 06:00 JST) – Servers back online.
  • 10/25/15 16:00 PST (10/26 0:00 BST/ 08:00 JST) – Beta 2 concludes.

Though a third Street Fighter V beta period has not been announced, Capcom said it will "continue to periodically turn on our servers for players to access, so keep your eyes open for new opportunities to play more SFV."

This beta is the first to test Street Fighter V's cross-platform play between PlayStation 4 and PC. The first beta was held only on PS4.

Street Fighter V does not currently have a confirmed release date, but Capcom has said that the game will be out during its current fiscal year, which ends on March 31, 2016. The game is never coming to Xbox One.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 14 comments about this story