PUBG's Limited-Time Platoon Mode Canceled Due To "Critical Error"

Womp womp.

4 Comments
Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Black Ops 4 Blackout Perfectly Fits Between Fortnite And PUBG


Related
PlayerUnknown's Battlegrounds
Follow

PlayerUnknown's Battlegrounds' latest Event Mode, a 50v50 match called Platoon, will no longer go ahead this week, developer PUBG Corp. has confirmed. In a message on Twitter, the studio stated the event has been canceled "due to a critical error." The company apologized and said: "Event Mode: Platoon will not be returning next week, but will return at a later date."

Platoon splits the usual count of 100 players into two teams of 50, each containing five squads. The mode was due to launch on October 18 at 7 PM PT / 10 PM ET (3 AM BST / 1 PM AET on October 19), but will now not arrive until "a later date."

This isn't the first time PUBG has tried its take on the 50v50 mode. It briefly ran a similar event back in May, when it was dubbed "Desert Knights," but server issues and crashes led to the mode's discontinuation within 24 hours. PUBG has been beset by issues in recent months: as an apology, PUBG Corp. has offered some free in-game loot for players who log in on PC this weekend.

Of course, PUBG has a new challenger on the market in the form of Call of Duty: Black Ops 4's Blackout mode. For more on those two and the third big battle royale game, check out our look at how Black Ops 4's Blackout compares to Fortnite: Battle Royale and PUBG.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 4 comments about this story