GameSpot may receive revenue from affiliate and advertising partnerships for sharing this content and from purchases through links.

Minecraft: Story Mode Is Disappearing--You'll Only Be Able To Download It From One Place Very Soon

Download it fast.


Following Telltale Games' closure, another of its games is scheduled to be delisted--and it's happening soon. Both seasons of Minecraft: Story Mode will be gone from every storefront and no longer be downloadable from all but one come June 25.

[Update: GOG global communications manager Marcin Traczyk reached out to GameSpot to clarify that you'll still be able to redownload Minecraft: Story Mode from the PC storefront. "In our publisher agreements, we make sure that delisted games remain available to users who bought them," Traczyk told GameSpot. "Minecraft: Story Mode... will be available for those customers who purchased [it] before and will be downloadable both through GOG Galaxy client and DRM-free installers." This appears to be the only storefront offering the opportunity to redownload Minecraft: Story Mode after its delisting. Our original story continues below.]

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Great New 2019 PC Games To Watch Out For - Steam Punks

"On behalf of the publisher, Minecraft: Story Mode - A Telltale Games Series, Season 1 and 2 will no longer be supported on June 25th, 2019," Mojang published in a blog post. "If you have purchased these seasons, please download all remaining episodes prior to the service being discontinued in June."

Just because a game has been delisted doesn't mean it's lost to you forever, but you'll have to be quick and careful. If you want to keep playing Minecraft: Story Mode after June 25, you'll need to download all of the game's episodes before then. To keep them, you can never delete them from your system.

Even if you still own the episodes, you won't be able to redownload them. If you own the physical versions of Minecraft: Story Mode, check to see if all episodes are on the disc. In some cases, only the first episode is stored on the disc, and the next ones are digital downloads. If that's true for your copy, you'll need to download the episodes that aren't on your disc before June 25.

Minecraft: Story Mode is merely the latest in a long line of Telltale Games' titles that have been recently delisted in the wake of the studio's closing. On GOG, you can no longer download The Wolf Among Us, Marvel's Guardians of the Galaxy, Hector: Badge of Carnage, Strong Bad's Cool Game for Attractive People, both Batman: The Telltale Series and Batman: The Enemy Within, and the entire Sam & Max series. Most of those series cannot be bought on Steam as well, though several are still available on Xbox One and PS4's digital marketplaces. 2K is working to preserve Tales from the Borderlands on digital storefronts, however.

Currently, Minecraft: Story Mode is available on Xbox One, PS4, PC, Nintendo Switch, Wii U, PS Vita, PS3, and mobile devices. But, again, come June 25, that will no longer be the case.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are 79 comments about this story