Before Crown Tundra's Release, Pokemon Home Is Going Down For Maintenance [Update]

The Pokemon storage service will be inaccessible for a few hours on October 22 as it receives a new update.

Comments

Pokemon Sword and Shield's Crown Tundra DLC is almost here. The expansion is slated to release later today, October 22. While The Pokemon Company hasn't yet confirmed what time the DLC will go live, it did announce that the Pokemon Home service will temporarily be down for maintenance today as it receives its own corresponding update. [Update: Maintenance has now ended, and both the Crown Tundra DLC and Pokemon Home's 1.3.0 update are now live.]

According to an in-app notification, the maintenance period will begin on October 22 at 11 PM UTC (4 PM PT / 7 PM ET) and is expected to run until 4 AM UTC on October 23 (9 PM PT on October 22). The service will be inaccessible on both Switch and mobile during the entire maintenance period.

The Pokemon Company hasn't shared any further details on what changes the Pokemon Home update will bring, but it is presumably making the storage service compatible with the new monsters coming in the Crown Tundra expansion. The notification notes that players will be required to update the app to version 1.3.0 to continue using it after maintenance concludes.

The Crown Tundra is the second part of Sword and Shield's Expansion Pass, following The Isle of Armor DLC that released back in June. This expansion takes players to yet another new section of Galar: the eponymous Crown Tundra, an arctic expanse that's home to many familiar and new Pokemon, such as Galarian Slowking. The update also introduces a new cooperative mode called Dynamax Adventures, as well as a helpful new item called the Ability Patch, which makes it easier to get a Pokemon's Hidden Ability.

To celebrate The Crown Tundra's release, The Pokemon Company is currently giving away eight free Pikachu to all Sword and Shield players. These special Pokemon can be claimed via Mystery Gift passwords, and each comes wearing one of the hats Ash Ketchum donned throughout the Pokemon anime.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Pokemon Sword & Shield DLC, EA Play On Game Pass, & Torchlight 3 Release Date | Save State

GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are no comments about this story