Apple "Show Time" Event Starts Early With Odd Teases [Update]

But what does it all mean?

1 Comments
Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: iPhone XS, XS Max, XR, And More Revealed At Apple Keynote 2018 - GS News Update

Apple is preparing to make its entry into streaming content with its Show Time event, but in an uncharacteristic move the company started up its stream early. The result has been a whole bunch of slightly odd teases leading up to the event. [Update: The event is ongoing, but already we've learned about Apple Arcade, which is a game subscription service that will let you pay a fee to access a variety of premium games on iOS, MacOS, and Apple TV. We also learned about Apple TV+, an Apple credit card, Apple News+, and more.

CNET reports that the stream featured a 1980s VCR aesthetic and had occasional interruptions by celebrities. Those include a call from Chris Evans (who plays Captain America in the Marvel films), a recitation of Emily Dickinson poetry, Sara Bareilles singing "I'll Never Get Over You Getting Over Me," and finally, an overlay of Apple's CarPlay navigation. That appears to be tracking a path between Hollywood and Apple's headquarters in Cupertino.

The shenanigans appear to be over for the time being, but it was certainly an unconventional way for Apple to start building up the hype for its big debut. Reports suggest that Apple's streaming service has the involvement of big names like Oprah and Stephen Spielberg, and that it may have conducted talks with other big content providers like HBO and Showtime to be part of the service. Netflix is reportedly not taking part in these talks, positioning itself as a competitor for Apple. The payment model and what the service would include are still under wraps.

For more on the event, check out everything we know. You can watch the show live today, March 25, at the following times to see Apple go all Hollywood yourself.

Apple Show Time Streaming Event Times, March 25

  • PDT: 10 AM
  • EDT: 1 PM
  • GMT: 5 PM
  • AEDT: 4 AM (Tuesday, March 26)

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 1 comments about this story