I want another video game crash to happen...? The industry is depressing now.

• 71 results

This topic is locked from further discussion.

YosemiteSam400

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 YosemiteSam400
Member since 2013 • 159 Posts
Hello everyone. Please keep in my mind that this is just my opinion, so please go easy on me. I've been playing games for nearly 30 years now, and I've seen the golden years of the Industry up until now. To this day I'll still play old favorites such as the Ninja Gaiden games on the NES, the Final Fight games on the SNES, the Streets of Rage games on the genesis etc. I replay those games much more often than I do anything current. Maybe I'm old fashioned at heart when it comes to gaming, I don't know, but I still play the modern stuff and enjoy some of the games still such as Red Dead Redemption, Oblivion, Skyrim, Arkham Asylum/City, Mass Effect, etc. But when I go back and play something like Final Fight 3 for instance, I just get this great feeling at how gaming was just focused on mainly fun. Not worrying about trying to compete with the next Call of Duty, or making you go through hoops to play a game. Just pop in the cartridge, see the title screen, push start, thats it. Off to fun land you go. Whatever happen to those days? Then, depression sets in. I realize it will probably never go back to that. Gaming has become so huge that the men in suits are getting wise and will abuse and then nickel and dime you for every DLC, microtransaction, games not being released finished with the "patch it later mentality" ( Yes, I know PC's dealt with this way before consoles, I played games on the PC even back in the 90s, I know). It's just sad to see the gaming industry (strictly from the business side) just become so incredibly greedy after playing an amazing game from 20 years ago. (Yes , I know that Capcom is even somewhat guilty of this, AKA Street Fighter II reshashes) but still, it was rare back then. I un