LexLas

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 4

User Lists: 0

#1 LexLas
Member since 2005 • 7317 Posts

So, to any of you that are in college right now. What type of laptop, or tablet would be a good one to get for someone who is graduating high school, and is about to go to college. Any opinions, or hints about what is needed would be helpful. I am trying to buy one for someone. I am just unsure what programs, like word, excel or anything they might need. Thnx

jun_aka_pekto

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

#2  Edited By jun_aka_pekto
Member since 2010 • 25255 Posts

If I was a full-time college student, I could never survive with just a tablet. I mean I might be able to get by with using campus computers for homework/projects. But, there are days when none are available. I'm not going to waste my time typing 10-30 page reports with a tablet especially if my reports have a lot of tables/images and I word-wrap the text around them.

Every university/college I attended used MS Office. Tell your friend to get it as academic software from the college. They either have huge discounts or are free. The same institutions also offer Windows OSes.

So, I would get a laptop. I'll even go so far as buy a full-size keyboard and mouse for it so I can type comfortably. Even a laptop touchpad is too clunky for manipulating MS Excel tables or Oracle MySQL databases.

I used a lot of MS Visio and MS Project. A mouse would definitely come in handy with the laptop.

kraken2109

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

#3 kraken2109
Member since 2009 • 13271 Posts

As someone that tried to work on a tablet, get a laptop. Focus on low weight and good battery life.

LexLas

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4 LexLas

Laptop ! Makes sense, so good i asked. I was about to purchase a tablet as a graduation gift. Now i know i have to look for a laptop. Most excellent, right on !

General_X

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#5  Edited By General_X