When thinking of doing something is better than doing it...

This topic is locked from further discussion.

Avatar image for deactivated-5b797108c254e
deactivated-5b797108c254e

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 44

User Lists: 0

#1 deactivated-5b797108c254e
Member since 2013 • 11245 Posts

Ok, I'm not sure if I'm the only one with this "problem" but it happens to me a lot; I decide I want to try something new, choose something I've been wanting to try, fantasize about how great it will be to do it and decide to try it. So I sign up for it, try it, hate it, but am incapable of stopping it...it's probably easier to explain with an example. I recently started playing basketball and I quite like it but for the sake of example lets say I didn't, so my experience would be something like this:

Get really excited to get started; start imagining how much fun it'll be.

Do my first practice, hate it.

Start thinking I'll probably enjoy it more when I stop sucking at it.

Show up for next practice, it goes quite well, but instead of having fun I spend the whole time looking at the clock hoping it'll end soon.

Get home and think I'm going to give it up because I get no joy from it.

Next day I start thinking "It wasn't so bad, there were some good moments" (even though I never seem to enjoy those moments when they're actually happening, they just magically turn good after a day or 2).

Show up for practice, can't stand it...start telling myself I shouldn't even bother since I don't enjoy it and all I get out of it are bruises and stress.

Go back home and think about quitting. Next day start thinking it wasn't so bad...and keep going on this loop.

Am I just insane or do you guys experience this as well? And if so, what do you do about it? Do you keep doing the activity hoping it will become fun eventually? Do you quit even though the idea of doing it still seems fun even though it never is when you're actually doing it?