Wii Component Cables-Are They Worth It?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

Fick1122

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 0

#1 Fick1122
Member since 2006 • 2135 Posts
I just started playing my Wii on my HDTV and the graphics are a lot grainier and choppier than on an SDTV. Do the component cables make the graphics look better, or is it not worth it?
mankeyador

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

#2 mankeyador
Member since 2007 • 156 Posts
well it is a rip-off since they only support 480p. but I would still get them for games like mario galaxy that look stunning on a big-screen.
DJ_Lae

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 73

#3 DJ_Lae
Member since 2002 • 42748 Posts

It really depends on your HDTV. Some are pretty good about upscaling 480i signals, some (well, okay, most) aren't. Still, 480p isn't great, and the only real difference you'll notice with component cables is that there's slightly less flickering and some more vibrant colours.

If you're just using composite (yellow/red/white) cables and not s-video, though, there will also be cleaner edges and less crawlies on red/black objects.

Keep in mind, of course, that even at 480p the Wii will look like ass on an HDTV. That's just the way it is.

Robio_basic

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 27

#4 Robio_basic
Member since 2002 • 7059 Posts

It really depends on your HDTV. Some are pretty good about upscaling 480i signals, some (well, okay, most) aren't. Still, 480p isn't great, and the only real difference you'll notice with component cables is that there's slightly less flickering and some more vibrant colours.

If you're just using composite (yellow/red/white) cables and not s-video, though, there will also be cleaner edges and less crawlies on red/black objects.

Keep in mind, of course, that even at 480p the Wii will look like ass on an HDTV. That's just the way it is.

DJ_Lae