Should I give Pokemon Pearl another try?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

khoofia_pika

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 16

User Lists: 0

#1 khoofia_pika
Member since 2006 • 16761 Posts

I love my DS and all the games I have on it, except for the game I bought the DS for in the first place- ever since I had heard abut Pokemon Diamond and Pearl, I had been pretty pumped up, since they sounded so much like Gold and Silver which are my favourite Pokemon games of all time. But when I started playing it, something just felt wrong. Pokemon Pearl could never pull me in like the previous titles had. For the first time in my life, playing Pokemon was a chore. I couldn't even finish Pokemon Pearl as the game never felt right. I think I won about seven gym badges.

Anyway, after consistent pestering from my brother, who seems to love it, I have tried no less than... um... four time to give the game another try. And I have always stopped playing it after reaching various points in the game. The farthest I ever could reach was hearthrome whereas once I actually shut it once I reached Sandgem Town.

But now, especially in light of the recently announced Pokemon G/S remakes (YEAH!!!!), I really do think I should give the game one final try because everybody seems to love it so much and I don't seem to understand what I am missing out on. I will confess one thing though- most of the times I played the game, I was never 'dedicated' to the game as you should be when you're playing a Pokemon title. As in, I was distracted and kept returning to other games, abandoning Pearl for great legnths of time.

What I want to know is, should I give Pokemon Pearl another chance? Do you reccomend that I play it again? And if I should, how do I play it so that I fall in love with it like everybody else so obviously is?

Please tell me your thoughts, I would really appreciate any help.