The 2DS is a fantastic idea.

This topic is locked from further discussion.

IMAHAPYHIPPO

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 10

User Lists: 0

#1 IMAHAPYHIPPO
Member since 2004 • 4197 Posts
As per usual, the announcement of the 2DS has the Internet haters sprinting to the comment section to express how stupid the design is. To put it simply, I worked at a Gamestop for four years before I graduated college and got a big boy job, and the number one DS issue among small children: broken hinges. Of course, the system looks stupid, but that's the beauty of childhood. You just don't care. This design was a great move by nintendo to draw in weary parents with destructive young children.
Avatar image for Soulreavercross
Soulreavercross

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 36

#2 Soulreavercross
Member since 2003 • 19890 Posts
It's targeted for younger audiences or people who want a tablet like design. No arguing there. It seems like a budget console, and that's not necessarily a bad thing. The lack of hinges is a good thing for children who would break their DS but the overall durability of the system is yet to be seen. However the naming is a bad choice. I can see parents being confused and looking for 2ds games, when games are marketed for the 3ds.
bobbetybob

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 7

#3 bobbetybob
Member since 2005 • 19370 Posts
So now they'll just destroy the screen instead when they drop it.
rubber-chicken

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

#4 rubber-chicken
Member since 2009 • 2081 Posts
Yeah if it has the same plastic screens as the 3DS I'd be worried about scratches.
Toxic-Seahorse

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#5 Toxic-Seahorse
Member since 2012 • 5074 Posts
The name is awful. You don't sell a system under a different name than the games for the system are under. That's incredibly stupid.
YoshiYogurt

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#6 YoshiYogurt
Member since 2010 • 6008 Posts