Q: How to write game reviews?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

TheIcyGrey

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 5

#1 TheIcyGrey
Member since 2014 • 25 Posts

Hey all, I've recently just created a video review of the game Batman Arkham Asylum it's a bit of an old game now but it's such a great game and I thought would be an easy starting point for me to review. Before I give a link to the video I just wanted to clarify the purpose of this post. I'm hoping to continue doing video reviews of games on my YouTube Channel, but I'm also thinking of creating an accompanying blog and having written game reviews on there since the two can be very different in style and some people prefer one form over another.

So, I'm looking for people who have any experience writing reviews or are willing to give me some feedback when I start (hoping to get some tips from first hand writers before I start) or any feedback for my video reviews.

I have some experience in writing before (Doing English AS level at school for example) and I know what sort of things to include (Plot, Gameplay/Features, Graphics, Price, Cast etc) but I was wondering on how long they should be for example? How much detail should be put it? Is it good to be comical or satirical? Or whether I should just keep to the basics to start off?

Also if you guys read or write reviews can you send me a link to your own content or authors you enjoy reading/watching like Zero Punctuation?

Thanks in advance,

Jake

mastermetal777

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 38

User Lists: 2

#2  Edited By mastermetal777
Member since 2009 • 3236 Posts

It depends. I don't have much of a persona when it comes to being on-screen, so I stick to written reviews. And when it comes to writing reviews or making videos, here's a few tips: