Let's talk about Chrono Trigger

• 109 results

This topic is locked from further discussion.

GeoffZak

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 3

User Lists: 0

#1 GeoffZak
Member since 2007 • 3715 Posts

I started playing Chrono Trigger only recently.

And holy god.

This game is SO well designed.

Chrono Trigger puts most of today's RPGs to shame.

Dark Souls, Skyrim, The Witcher, Dragon Age, GO HOME! Chrono Trigger is where it's at.

For example: So you're running around town and you run by what looks like just a generic NPC, but then BAM! You and her trip over and it triggers (no pun intended) a story sequence.

Mind Blown

Who else thinks that developers should look towards Chrono Trigger for inspiration?

This game is a prime example of how to correctly design an RPG.

I can't believe I ignored this game for so long. I should've played it sooner.

On a side note: Who else thinks Crono should be in Smash Brothers? lol

Renegade_Fury

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2 Renegade_Fury
Member since 2003 • 21702 Posts

I played it for the first time in 2008, and yeah, I was also really shocked with how good it is. I normally hate jrpgs, but in Chrono Trigger the gameplay is simple and fun to master, there are no random battles, the characters aren't annoying, the story is engaging, and the music is terrific. Chrono Trigger just gets it right everywhere.

If Square got to put a character in the next Smash, it'd be awesome if it was Crono, but I doubt they would pick him over someone like Cloud. 

Lucianu

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 6

#3 Lucianu
Member since 2007 • 10347 Posts