Dinosaurous OnlineGaming Illiteratisaurous, Get Educated or Become A Fossil!

This topic is locked from further discussion.

merlinthecat

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 merlinthecat
Member since 2003 • 25 Posts

Dinosaurous OnlineGaming Illteratisaurous

I am online gaming illiterate and am seeking help to educate myself.

When I was with the U.S. Coast Guard we didn't get Windows 3.1 and Office until 1997 (by then the software was obsolete but it was new to us).  Back then the Coast Guard was part of the Department of Transportation so we had to compete with AMTRACK for funding and we didn't get much.  That was my first real experience with computers.  Since then most every thing I know about computers was self taught.  Unfortunately I also missed out on the Home Gaming system experience like the "XBox" and similar systems so I'm way behind the Eight Ball when it comes to gaming.

Anyway, that's a little background info on me.  I am now gainfully retired and I own a top of the line very fast PC with duel-core processors, two large hard drives, massive amounts of RAM and a 5 Mbps Internet connection. I bought the PC version of Battle Field II with the intention of using it as a first person game to play occasionally at home, myself against the game; I soon discovered the game is not much for that.  It is designed pretty much specifically for online gaming.  So I know how to use Windows and the Internet but know absolutely nothing about online gaming.