tpz4sheezy

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 tpz4sheezy
Member since 2017 • 82 Posts

I’m pretty new to from software games. I did give dark souls a try for a few hours but didn’t fall in love with it. The closest thing I’ve completed that would even remotely compare to a from software game is Jedi survivor and I know that doesn’t really compare lol.

Anyways I keep hearing people saying it’s hard but not too hard and if you keep dying at a boss or location, that you can go off and sort of level up to get stronger and then come back. This sounds silly asking this but How does this work? Are there other side quests spread out that you can do to level up and then come back? Is there a sort of grinding aspect to it?

One of my fav games of all time is Zelda botw and totk and what I loved about those games was the fact if I couldn’t beat a certain part of had difficulty I could visit the shrines and solve them and get my hearts and endurance and come back. Is that sort of how elden ring works?? I love the power fantasy of being super weak and then by getting better but also upgrading my character stats and health I am then able to destroy enemies that once seemed impossible. I absolutely despise games that scale up to your level because what’s the point of leveling up if they level up with you?

Based on the little amount I have told you, do you guys think I will enjoy this game??

RSM-HQ

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 94

User Lists: 1

#2 RSM-HQ
Member since 2009 • 11687 Posts

@tpz4sheezy: Elden Ring is in fact as hard as any From Souls games, the difference is it's not quite as linear. If you are struggling with a boss at a dungeon? chances are you can tackle dozens other areas and return at a much higher level, because the big difference is ER is openworld. And while DkS games have different paths they're usually as difficult as each other if not far more difficult that the one you seemed to struggle with.