I picked the wrong gamertag by accident -- how do I change without $$$?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

grongo2

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 grongo2
Member since 2009 • 119 Posts

Total noob move here, but I got an Xbox, payed for a year of Xbox Live, and started setting up the account and name. Tried to pick a few names and they were already taken and the system suggested a few to me including my own name. I ACCIDENTALLY clicked my own name and instead of giving me a 2nd chance to describe it just sent me to the next menu with no way to change. Now I'm stuck with my actual full name as a gamertag and I don't want to pay 10 bucks for the mistake. I'm thinking I can delete the account but would that cost me the 50 I just paid? I wrote tech support and they just said pay the ten bucks for the change. This sucks.

SragentThom

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 5

#2 SragentThom
Member since 2008 • 941 Posts

Total noob move here, but I got an Xbox, payed for a year of Xbox Live, and started setting up the account and name. Tried to pick a few names and they were already taken and the system suggested a few to me including my own name. I ACCIDENTALLY clicked my own name and instead of giving me a 2nd chance to describe it just sent me to the next menu with no way to change. Now I'm stuck with my actual full name as a gamertag and I don't want to pay 10 bucks for the mistake. I'm thinking I can delete the account but would that cost me the 50 I just paid? I wrote tech support and they just said pay the ten bucks for the change. This sucks.

grongo2

It's Impossible to do it without cash.

Tht1Guy7780

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3 Tht1Guy7780
Member since 2009 • 1277 Posts

grongo2

10 dallllaaass

Sorry, thats unfortunate.

Im not aware of any other way to change it. Shouldve set the account up before shelling out the 50 bills for live.

Stashbash

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers