Do Achievements/Trophies ruin the 'fun' in games?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

Leakybubbles

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 114

User Lists: 0

#1 Leakybubbles
Member since 2006 • 193 Posts

I've been finding myself for the last 4 years now buying a game or renting and immediately looking at the achievements and playing the game trying to get them. But what I didn't realize was I missing out on the point; fun. When you're playing a game where the achievement is to never die you find yourself playing through the game and when you die, BAM! You're mad - no achievement. So what do we do? We restart. And even though we are redoing virtually everything we just did, we don't care cuz we want these 'magical virtual' essentially nothing points. Why? Cuz we want to beat our friends out?

We are ruining the games for ourselves.. don't you see? We no longer play to play.. we play to go after awards. What fun is that? For instance: Last gen.. there were no achievements. So what did we do? We played games and had fun. Cuz that's all that they were. Fun. Now I do realize the positive side of achievements/trophies like bragging rights, accomplishment, and making a game re-playable but weren't fun games replayable any way? To me it's just an annoying thing in the way. I admit that I was VERY obsessed at a time with collecting achievements and spending countless hours going after them but in the end I mostly regret it cuz I missed out on just playing the game through the first time just for fun.

Your thoughts?

millerlight89

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 6

#2 millerlight89
Member since 2007 • 18658 Posts
No they aren't :?
WilliamRLBaker

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

#3 WilliamRLBaker
Member since 2006 • 28915 Posts

not every one plays games for the trophies or achievements they have added alot to the gaming arena.

lundy86_4

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

#4 lundy86_4