Xplode_games

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By Xplode_games
Member since 2011 • 2540 Posts

Ok so I was anxious to play The Outer Worlds. I downloaded it on Gamepass for PC and Xbox.

On PC I downloaded it to my SSD drive just in case the loadtimes were bad. I started playing and the first problem was the character selection screen. You just saw an outline of where the character should go. I couldn't get to choose what my character looks like because of this. I don't care about that so no big deal I moved on.

Then I loaded the game and the crashes began. I crashed to desktop every 5 minutes. No matter what I tried the crashes kept getting worse. It got to the point that the game would not even load to the title screen.

Now I started troubleshooting my PC. The nightmare began, I rolled back AMD drivers, reinstalled the drivers, reinstalled windows multiple times, tried an old GPU I had laying around until finally I had some progress. Eventually after weeks of troubleshooting I realized that if I underclock my GPU(RX 580), I had some stability. I thought wow this is weird, it can reach a clock of 1,310 and still remain somewhat stable. My GPU is a Saphire Nitro and the stock clock is 1,430 so I began to really suspect the PSU.

My PSU is a Corsair modular Gold 750 wat so I thought damn it can't be this. I tested the RAM, flashed and updated bios on my ASUS motherboard. Finally I decided you know what I have to buy a new PSU because everything tells me that this could be it. At this point it had to either be the motherboard, GPU or PSU. I got luck because you can buy a PSU at bestbuy and if it's not that, I can return it without a restocking fee within 15 days.

IT WAS THE PSU!!!!!!!!!!!! My PC is now stable as a rock! It was weeks fighting my PC and I already decided to upgrade this blackfriday to an AMD Ryzen 3900X and 5700 XT but now my PC is stable so that's great.