An analysis of 360 GPU (Xenos)

• 107 results

This topic is locked from further discussion.

HarakoMeshi

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 HarakoMeshi
Member since 2006 • 337 Posts

This is my rant about the Xbox 360 GPU http://dpad.gotfrag.com/portal/story/35372/?cpage=2#comment_6047197 (in the comments section).  If someone knows some technical details that I don't about the 360 please let me know.  Based on the public information about the 360 Xenos GPU I have made my deductions.  I am an experienced developer in 3D graphics on consoles and I have tried to make my calculations accurate but I may have made a mistake if there is some mystery of 360 I do not understand.

The Xenos GPU has an unprecendented bandwidth to it's 10MB of EDRAM of 256MB/s. If I understand correctly this peak bandwidth is actually only available when dong 4xMSAA. The actual writing bandwidth from the GPU is 32GB/s. This number is then multiplied by 8 to account for 4XMSAA times 2 for read+write operations.

Now if we consider the size of a full picture at 720p resolution (1280x720) with 8 bytes per pixel (color + Z) it almost fills the 10MB edram (over 7MB). In order to render that same picture with 4xMSAA four times the memory is required (over 28MB). This is the dilemma for the Xenos. In order to render such HD picture with AA it must do it in sections - in this case 3 sections.