What happens to my current subscription if I buy discounted PS Plus now?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

Avatar image for burgeg
#1 Posted by burgeg (3599 posts) -

At the moment a years PS Plus is at a discounted price. I'm already a member but I was wondering if I could get a years subscription at this cheaper price now, and I'll have an extra year when my current subscription runs out? Basically what I'm asking is whether or not buying a years subscription will take effect now and override my current subscription or will it just put an other year on top of my current subscription? It's just so that I can get it at this cheap price now instead of paying the normal price again when my sub runs out.

Avatar image for Floppy_Jim
#2 Posted by Floppy_Jim (25834 posts) -
It stacks, so the year will be added to your current subscription without overriding it. I did the same thing and mine now lasts until September 2014.
Avatar image for The-Apostle
#3 Posted by The-Apostle (12195 posts) -
It's full price for me... :?
Avatar image for The-Apostle
#4 Posted by The-Apostle (12195 posts) -
Ugh... Apparently, it's UK only. I hate it when they do this ****. Mine expires in a couple days and I could use the discount.
Avatar image for RogueShodown
#5 Posted by RogueShodown (2818 posts) -
Ugh... Apparently, it's UK only. I hate it when they do this ****. Mine expires in a couple days and I could use the discount.The-Apostle
They really should discount North America's year-long subscription. Europe's has gone on sale multiple times since E3, but NA's has not.
Avatar image for NamelessPlayer
#6 Posted by NamelessPlayer (7729 posts) -
And I was thinking, "Oh crap! I just bought a year's worth of PS+, and NOW they're offering a discount?", only to find that it doesn't apply to the US or NA as a whole. Oh well, $50 for a year still seems like a pretty good deal given all those free games, even if the "free" games are lost if the subscription ends. And to restate what the second poster said, any additional subscription time purchased gets added to your remaining time, so you don't lose anything. They made that part quite clear in the FAQ.