laptop upgrade help

This topic is locked from further discussion.

scarred_fox

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 2

#1 scarred_fox
Member since 2005 • 583 Posts

i started playing skyrim and boy am i addicted. thing is i want to play the game to its full potential. i am currently playing on HIGH default settings. anything higher than that and my game has a one second lag response time.

i currntly run sager laptop with intel i7@2.0ghz, GPU is nvidia 460m@1.5gb with 4gb ram@1333. i am looking to upgarde my CPU/GPU with the following: intel i7@2.4ghz and gpu will be nvidia 580M
@2gb. both together will cost close to or over $1000.

i'm asking the publics' opinion on whether i should get both upgardes or just one of them. my laptop can run most demanding games: i.e BF3 and skyrim but the DX11 settings slows my system down. so with that said is it a CPU issue or a GPU ???

thanks in advance:D

FelipeInside

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#2 FelipeInside
Member since 2003 • 28548 Posts
1- if ur playing on HIGH settings then it should be fine, looks great on high. 2- one second response time? are u sure? is it noticeable? 3- Most laptops can't be upgraded (CPU and GPU), are you sure urs can. If so you could go with the newer video card, I wouldn't even bother with the CPU. Have u got a 64bit Windows? If so, you can also look into going to 8GB RAM. 4- If you are playing most games on high, I wouldn't spend money on upgrading but saving for a new laptop in the future (or desktop). 5- Next time post in Hardware Forum.
scarred_fox

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 2

#3 scarred_fox
Member since 2005 • 583 Posts