first time build help ($5000 to spend)

• 65 results

This topic is locked from further discussion.

JohnP78

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 JohnP78
Member since 2007 • 25 Posts

I already have a monitor, speakers, and keyboard/mouse. I was going to buy a $5000 PC from alienware but a friend of mine convinced me that I can get a lot more for my budget.. So I'm still new to building so he picked out the parts for me today but I need more opinions to help me feel more secure about this purchase. He will also help me assemble it when the parts arrive. Anyway here is what I have so far:

- Thermaltake Armor Series case

- EVGA 780i motherboard

- 3x EVGA 8800Ultra

- Intel QX9650 cpu

- Patriot Viper 4GB RAM

- Western Digital Raptor 150GB HDD

- 2x 500GB Westrn Digital HDD

- DVD burner and DVD drive

- Windows Vista Ultimate

Then he's also giving me a Zalman(sp?) CPU cooler so I think I'm good with that.

This brings this build to $4905 from newegg. Is there anything missing and should I switch the OS to XP?

Thanks in advance!

SparkPlug69

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2 SparkPlug69
Member since 2003 • 261 Posts
I hate you.
sabbath2gamer

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

#3 sabbath2gamer
Member since 2007 • 2515 Posts

3 8800 ultras isnt necessaryi would suggest 2 8800gt's

karasill

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4 karasill
Member since 2007 • 3155 Posts

I'd suggest just getting one 8800 GTS (G92 version). And in 2-3 months from now buy 2 9800's in SLI. Also, save some cash and just got Vista Home premium.

EDIT: Make sure you get the EVGA brand so you can use the step up program.

catlin_czirr

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#5 catlin_czirr
Member since 2007 • 2545 Posts
wait... 3? I thought Sli was only 2 cards? Where did you get 3 from?
karasill

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#6 karasill
wait... 3? I thought Sli was only 2 cards? Where did you get 3 from?catlin_czirr