Is psychology a pseudo-science?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

silly_pants

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 silly_pants
Member since 2012 • 233 Posts
Seriously as someone who has taken psychology... And done a decent job, not well mind you but decent enough to pass. I am not really good at academia or born with the intellectual gift but I digress. I mean it is the science of the mind, science of labels and condescension. Every message board I go to or have gone to show it to be one. Everyone throws around diagnosing people they dislike with disorders, in my view psychology is used as a club by those in power, or those who hold certain oratory, or intellectual gifts to denegrate humans deemed inferior. Further proof is how these terms are thrown around in a negative connotation and the criteria for each so called "disorder" are so broad that everyone pretty much can be designated to one.
chrisrooR

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

#2 chrisrooR
Member since 2007 • 9027 Posts
Some areas are, such as folk psychology. As a fourth year in Psych, no it isn't a pseudo-science. There are branches of cognitive, neuro, behavioural-cog...etc that all rely on the scientific method.
wis3boi

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3 wis3boi
Member since 2005 • 32507 Posts

uhhhh.....no.

22Toothpicks

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#5 22Toothpicks
Member since 2005 • 12546 Posts

nothegerg

uhhhh.....no.

wis3boi

absolutely enthralling responses

michaelP4

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 4

#7 michaelP4
Member since 2004 • 16681 Posts