Radnen

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 0

Edited By Radnen
Member since 2011 • 242 Posts

Hi folks, it's been a while since I posted a blog here, but I wanted to highlight an interesting trend in the games industry and a company that has so far given us surprising results.

So, with releases like Anthem, then Battlefront, and most recently Cyberpunk 2077 releasing in an incomplete or broken state, we are seeing a trend where games are just not up to snuff, even after heavy Day-1 patches. Other devs, like the makers of Mount & Blade Bannerlord and Subnautica decide to go to Early Access first and have the community test the game for them. But it's clearer than ever before that games are releasing with more bugs than you can shake a stick at.

As a Software Developer, I would like to defend the game developers a little bit. Games are complex. They have many tools that can fail, and they have many interactions and dynamic systems at play that can break in any number of unknown ways. Certainly, not every combination of these systems can be tested. Also, games are played so at the very least we need good play testers. Early Access users can fill that gap for small studios, but large studios either don't give their testers enough time, or they under commit to the number of bugs they are willing to ship.

One developer that stands out from the rest however is Nintendo. After playing several of the more recent releases from Nintendo, I can easily see that there are very few bugs in their titles. Animal Crossing New Horizons, The New Pokémon Snap, and even collaboration games like Hyrule Warriors release at a pretty solid state. (I don't think Nintendo will be a company that releases games in 'Early Access' any time soon).