THQ Reveals SpongeBob SquarePants: Battle For Bikini Bottom Remake Ahead Of E3

Are you ready, kids?

7 Comments
Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: E3 2019: What We Expect To See At The Event

Just ahead of E3 2019, publisher THQ Nordic has promised a series of three game announcements over the next few days. The first of these has been revealed, with the company announcing SpongeBob SquarePants: Battle for Bikini Bottom - Rehydrated is coming to Nintendo Switch, PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC at some point in the future.

The brief 20-second trailer doesn't give away much of anything, but we do know this is a remake of a cult classic platformer originally released back in October of 2003. Purple Lamp Studios--who previously developed The Guild 3--is handling development, and the game's official description has revealed there will be an all-new multiplayer mode beyond the single-player hijinks of SpongeBob, Patrick, and Sandy.

The announcement goes on to say, "The cult classic is back, faithfully remade in spongetastic splendor! Play as SpongeBob, Patrick and Sandy and show the evil Plankton that crime pays even less than Mr. Krabs. Want to save Bikini Bottom from lots of rampant robots? Of course you do! Want to underpants bungee jump? Why wouldn't you! Want to join forces in a brand new multiplayer mode? The battle is on!"

This is the first of three new game announcements THQ Nordic has promised for this week. The second will be unveiled June 6 at 11 AM PT / 2 PM ET / 7 PM BST, while the third will arrive on June 7 at 11 AM PT / 2 PM ET / 7 PM BST.

Rumours have been swirling after an e-mail sent to press regarding E3 appointments gave away some scarce details that point to the possibility of new games in the Destroy All Humans and Darksiders franchises. An E3 panel certainly seems to point to the latter, with Darksiders: Action Adventure Evolved set to discuss "the inception of the Darksiders universe and where it's headed next."

In other SpongeBob news, Nickelodeon recently greenlit a SpongeBob prequel TV show that will focus on SpongeBob when he was 10 years old.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 7 comments about this story