Pokemon Go Gift Event Now Live, Gives You A Chance To Hatch A New Shiny Pokemon

You may hatch a Shiny Bonsly from Eggs for a limited time.

Comments

Pokemon Go's August Community Day may be over, but a new event is now underway in the hit mobile game. For the next two weeks, Niantic is holding a gift-themed event, which increases the number of gifts you can open daily--and introduces yet another new Shiny Pokemon to get your hands on.

From August 5-19, the number of gifts you can carry in your inventory will be increased to 20. Additionally, Niantic will be upping the number of gifts you can open each day to 30. Any Eggs you receive from these gifts will also only require 2 km to hatch, but the Pokemon that can appear from them are those that can normally be found in 7 km Eggs.

One such Pokemon is Bonsly, the baby form of Sudowoodo. Not only will you be able to hatch it from 2 km Eggs, you'll also have a chance of hatching a Shiny Bonsly for the first time. You can't tell what Pokemon will hatch from an Egg before you begin incubating it, so you'll need to exchange a lot of gifts and hatch as many Eggs as you can if you're hoping to add a Shiny Bonsly to your collection.

The third and final Pokemon Go Fest of the summer is also taking place this week in Yokohama, Japan. To commemorate the event, Shiny Poliwag will be available in the wild around the world for a limited time starting at 2 PM PT / 5 PM ET / 10 PM BST on August 5 (6 AM JST on August 6). Hat-wearing Pikachu will also return to the game and will sport a different piece of headwear each day during the event, and Niantic will hold a series of global challenges that players everywhere can contribute to.

That's not all that's happening in Pokemon Go right now. Team Rocket recently invaded the game, and now they have even more kinds of Shadow Pokemon in tow. The Legendary Rayquaza also recently returned to Raid Battles. The Pokemon will be available again until September 2, and this time, you'll have a chance to capture a Shiny Rayquaza.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: August's Pokemon Go Community Day Features Shiny Ralts - GS News Update

GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are no comments about this story