Nintendo's E3 2019 Plans Are Bigger Than A Nintendo Direct

Pokemon, Animal Crossing, and more on the way.

8 Comments
Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: E3 Nintendo Direct Date And Time Announced - GS News Update

Nintendo has announced some of its plans for E3 2019. This year, the company will once again host several tournaments during the show and showcase a special pre-recorded Direct presentation. The E3 2019 Nintendo Direct is scheduled to reveal the company's plans for upcoming Switch software.

The Direct presentation will kick off on June 11 at 9 AM PT / 12 PM ET / 5 PM BST (2 AM AET on June 12). After that, Nintendo will follow up with its three days of Treehouse streams, which often include developer chats revolving around the games revealed during the presentation.

Before any of that happens, though, Nintendo is planning three game tournaments for the weekend prior to E3. On June 8 at 11 AM PT, the company will host the Super Mario Maker 2 Invitational, followed immediately by the Splatoon 2 World Championships. Then, once that wraps up around 2 PM PT, the company will host a Super Smash Bros. Ultimate World Championship tournament, composed of 3v3 teams. The Mario Maker 2 invitational will pit players against courses designed by the Nintendo Treehouse team.

The announcement didn't detail what is on Nintendo's slate for this year's presentation, but given that it focuses on 2019 it's likely that both Pokemon Sword / Shield and Animal Crossing Switch will be on tap. Super Mario Maker 2 and Fire Emblem: Three Houses could also be shown, but those are both summer releases that will be just weeks from release during E3.

One game that's unlikely to make an appearance is Metroid Prime 4, which reportedly restarted development under Retro Studios earlier this year.

Nintendo hasn't removed itself from E3 entirely like Sony, but it was among the first major platform holders to eschew a press conference in favor of a streaming presentation. Sony appears to be announcing its lineup of titles through a series of State of Play streams, one of which is scheduled for today, May 9. Microsoft, meanwhile, promises to "go big" at E3 and says we'll start to see some projects from its newly acquired studios.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 8 comments about this story