Lego: The Hobbit officially announced for 2014

Next Lego game set around the first two chapters of The Hobbit trilogy, An Unexpected Journey and Desolation of Smaug.

No Caption Provided

Following the emergence of artwork for the game leaking last week, Warner Bros. has officially announced Lego: The Hobbit for release in spring 2014.

The game will be coming to Xbox One, Xbox 360, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 3, Vita, Wii U, 3DS, PC, and Mac.

The game will be set around the first two films of Peter Jackson's The Hobbit trilogy, An Unexpected Journey and Desolation of Smaug. Playable characters include Bilbo Baggins and Gandalf the Grey, alongside all of the dwarves: Thorin, Fíli, Kíli, Óin, Glóin, Dwalin, Balin, Bifur, Bofur, Bombur, Dori, Nori, and Ori. Warner Bros. adds that each dwarf will have his own unique ability, mentioning that Bombur can use his belly as a trampoline.

Locations visited will include Bag End, Hobbiton, The Misty Mountains, Goblin-town, Mirkwood, and Rivendell.

Players "will also be able to mine for gems, discover loot from enemies, and craft powerful magical items or build immense new LEGO structures," according to the game's press release, suggesting that Minecraft-esque elements could make their way into the next Lego adventure.

Lego: The Hobbit follows Lego: Lord of the Rings, which was released in fall 2012 and followed the three The Lord of the Rings films.

Lego regular TT Games is handling development of Lego: The Hobbit.

Two additional screenshots for the game were also released:

No Caption Provided
No Caption Provided

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are 8 comments about this story