Independent Games Festival awards finalists revealed

16th annual awards show's Main Competition finalists include The Stanley Parable and Don't Starve.


Independent Games Festival (IGF) organizers today announced the Main Competition finalists for the 16th annual awards show, including main prize nominees The Stanley Parable and Don't Starve.

No Caption Provided

This year's pool saw more than 650 entrants, but a panel of judges whittled the list down to a group of more than 30 games that were released in the past year.

This year's IGF Awards take place on Wednesday, March 19 at the Moscone Convention Center in San Francisco as part of the 2014 Game Developers Conference. Yet again, GameSpot is the exclusive streaming partner for the event.

All Main Competition finalist games will be playable at GDC 2014 March 19-21. What's more, finalists will receive a Steam distribution offer, while the winner of the Seumas McNally Grand Prize will take home $30,000. Past winners of that award include the likes of Minecraft and Super Meat Boy.

The full list of finalists for every category for this year's IGF awards, including honorable mentions, is listed below.

Excellence In Visual Art:

Excellence In Narrative:

Excellence In Design:

Excellence In Audio:

Nuovo Award:

Seumas McNally Grand Prize:

GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

The products discussed here were independently chosen by our editors. GameSpot may get a share of the revenue if you buy anything featured on our site.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are 10 comments about this story