Here's When Oculus Rift Preorders Open

Soon.

49 Comments

Preorders for the Oculus Rift virtual reality headset will open through Oculus.com this coming Wednesday, January 6, starting at 8 AM PST / 11 AM EST, Oculus VR announced today.

No Caption Provided

"This is going to be an exciting week for VR," Oculus said in a blog post.

As announced previously, everyone who preorders Oculus Rift gets a free copy of CCP's space dogfighting game EVE: Valkyrie. Every system, meanwhile, comes with an Xbox One controller and a free copy of Lucky's Tale, no preorder required.

After the preorders open, founder Palmer Luckey will answer questions during a Reddit AMA this Wednesday, January 6, starting at 6 PM PST / 9 PM EST. Oculus also told fans to "stay tuned for more updates this week. We can't wait to share what's coming next."

This 2016 Consumer Electronics Show begins this week from Las Vegas.

The pricing and release date for Oculus Rift have been kept under wraps. But it now appears that Oculus is finally ready to start talking about one or both lingering questions. The headset will cost more than $350 and is officially slated to launch before April 2016.

GameSpot and sister site CNET will be on the ground at CES to bring you all the news.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 49 comments about this story