GameSpot may receive revenue from affiliate and advertising partnerships for sharing this content and from purchases through links.

Classic Sega Games Coming To Nintendo Switch This Summer

Sonic, Phantasy Star, and more classic Sega titles are coming to Switch.


Sega is bringing a slate of its classic titles to Nintendo Switch. During the Sega Fes event in Japan, the publisher announced Sega Ages, a lineup of retro Sega games that are coming to North America, Europe, and Japan later this year.

The first batch of Sega Ages titles will be available this summer and consists of five classic games: the Master System versions of Phantasy Star and Alex Kidd in Miracle World; the Genesis versions of Sonic the Hedgehog and Thunder Force IV; and the arcade version of Gain Ground.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Nintendo Switch Getting Classic Sega Games This Summer - GS News Update

Thunder Force IV
Thunder Force IV

The Sega Ages ports are being handled by M2, the studio behind the Sega 3D Classics series on 3DS. M2 was also responsible for the Game Boy Advance line of Virtual Console titles on Wii U.

Sega hasn't announced an exact release date or pricing details for the Sega Ages games, but the publisher shared a handful of screenshots of them, which you can take a look at above. During the event, Sega teased that it is planning to release more than 15 games under the Sega Ages banner.

In addition to the Sega Ages titles, Sega also unveiled a mini Sega Genesis during the Sega Fes event. More notably, the publisher announced Shenmue I & II, a collection of the beloved Dreamcast games coming to PS4, Xbox One, and PC later this year.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are 11 comments about this story