Does the 360 make a good home theater system?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

Munkwunk

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 10

User Lists: 0

#1 Munkwunk
Member since 2002 • 825 Posts
I have long been interested in getting an Xbox 360 but have been unwilling to drop $300 on a gaming console lately, since I'm a student with limited income and even less time for gaming. However, with the release of the 360 Slim, I've become interested in the console again. Lately I've been researching the best way to condense my DVD library and play movie files from a portable hard drive via a media player of some sort, like the WD TV Live. So far, I'm looking at psending at least $300 to get everything I really want out of a media player, and since that's in line with the Xbox 360 Slim's price, I figured I might be able to get both the media player functionality I need and the gaming functionality I've long wanted in one package. But I do have a couple of questions about the 360's media playback capabilities, and I was wondering if anyone out there could answer a few of them for me. 1. What file formats is the 360 capable of playing? Specificaly, I ned the ability to play DivX/XviD, H.264, AVI, MKV, MP3, WMA, JPEG, and BMP files. Anything else would just be gravy. 2. Can the 360 Slim read portable hard drives that are attached via USB, or does it only read media from the internal drive? 3. Would the 360 Slim's built-in WiFi enable me to stream movies, music, or pictures directly from a networked PC? I am running Windows XP; does the option still apply, or would I need to upgrade to Vista or Windows 7? 4. How well does it play back stored video at 720p and 1080p? Is there a lot of stuttering, or is it smooth? I think those are the main questions I have. These are some of the biggest considerations I have when looking at media players, so if the 360 can do all of these things and do them well, I may very well have a new console on my hands (finally). Thanks f