360? LCD TV? Read this!!

• 82 results

This topic is locked from further discussion.

foxy42

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 3

User Lists: 0

#1 foxy42
Member since 2004 • 358 Posts

I feel compelled to make this post about my recent experiences with HDTVs and my 360, as I have discovered a gem of information that some of you may already know, but I think most of you may not...if you can plough this essay of my lifes story, you might find it worth your while.

Short version for lazy people - Using component input for 720p or 1080p? TV has VGA input? Try the VGA cable, maybe it will make your experience MUCH better! Read more to see why...

Firstly, I bought my 360 relatively recently (few months), and when I bought it I did not have an HDTV. However, I'm a senior tech for a living, so I DO have lots of monitors. So of course I bought the VGA cable straight away. Plugged it into an old 19"CRT (the old big, deep ones) monitor. When you're connected via VGA, the Xbox dashboard lets you set a generic resolution for the dashboard AND any games/DVDs that are played through the xbox. So, I set the dashboard res at 1024x768 (monitor was not a wide, unfortunately), and started playing. Of course the display was small and 'letterboxed' cos no widescreen, but the graphics were very nice and I was impressed. All was well in foxy's office until...

A few days ago, I bought a 32" Samsung LCD just for the Xbox (we have bigger plans for the living room, but more on that in a later post ;)), I eagerly dug out the old component cable I had never used and set the little switch to HD, booted up the dashboard, set it to 720p (fully supported by the LE32R32B) and loaded up Test Drive (nice trees n stuff). I was shocked how crap it looked. I was so shocked I was convinced there was something wrong with the TV.