why does ps3 games use blu ray discs?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

whataguy69

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 0

#1 whataguy69
Member since 2009 • 238 Posts

sorry if it's a dumb question. i have no technical knowledge of blu ray other than it displays high def.

anyways, I notice that all ps3 games use blu ray discs. my question is... why does it need blu ray? is there a difference between MW2 on xbox 360 (DVD) vs ps3 (bluray)? couldn't they just use reg dvd's and save blu ray disc for the ps3 games that actually need them?

SpruceCaboose

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 9

#2 SpruceCaboose
Member since 2005 • 24589 Posts
Blu-Ray has more space on the disc. That and Sony wanted to promote Blu-Ray as the next gen disc of choice.
emorainbo

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

#3 emorainbo
Member since 2008 • 3067 Posts

Sony pushed Blu-Ray at the start of the gen to be the next disc format. Blu-Ray disks can store much more data than DVDs but are read slower so they usually have to be installed.

oldkingallant

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

#4 oldkingallant
Member since 2010 • 4958 Posts

It has more memory. Not always necessary, but it can be in some cases, like FFXIII which fit on a single Blu-Ray but was on 3 DVDs on the 360.

Respawn-d

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#5 Respawn-d
Member since 2010 • 2936 Posts

The mw2 dev jason after being kicked from IW said that the ps3 version looks slightly better. :D

bluray = uncompressed and more space

Respawn-d

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#6 Respawn-d
Member since 2010 • 2936 Posts

Sony pushed Blu-Ray at the start of the gen to be the next disc format. Blu-Ray disks can store much more data than DVDs but are read slower so they usually have to be installed.

emorainbo