THE Virtua Fighter 5 Thread

• 169 results

This topic is locked from further discussion.

DarkCatalyst

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 DarkCatalyst
Member since 2002 • 20983 Posts
It's depressing how under-the-radar this game is when it's a likely contender for Fighting Game of the Year, PS3 Game of the Year, and possibly even Game of the Year. It's not even on GameSpot's top 10 (traffic) PS3 titles as I type this. Thus, I figured a thread was in order.

I figured I was the guy to do it, even though I'm new to the PS3 board. I'll introduce myself now. I'm Patrick Mifflin, better known as DarkCatalyst in fighting game circles (and the GS forums). I was a moderator here off and on from February 2000 to July 2006, have been in game journalism with GameAddicts Network and now Amped News also off and on since February 2000. My credentials in the fighting genre include being Utah's only sanctioned tournament director in APEX league history, as well as winning an APEX league Tekken 5 divisional title (Pacific North) as the top-ranked player in the division as of Evolution 2005. I have been into competitive fighting games from the start (the Street Fighter II heyday), and renewed my involvement in the competitive scene back in 2001 after a six-year layoff, around the time Justin Wong started dominating.

Just wanted to get that out so you all understand I'm not just some know-nothing fan coming in to spread wishful thinking. I'm right there in it.

I'll start the thread off with a FAQ to get all the basic info out.

First things first - is there online play?
There is, in fact, no online play in Virtua Fighter 5, whether you're referring to this upcoming PS3 version or its sibling on the 360 this Summer.

Why not?