Finally getting a PS3 (Advice needed)

This topic is locked from further discussion.

khalid_b

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 khalid_b
Member since 2005 • 622 Posts

Hey guys wats up,

So im finally making the plunge but i am having some trouble picking between the 40 gig and the 60 gig. Besides the difference in BC between the two are there any other differences?(be them external or internal)

Also can u please advise me on what accessories are must-haves to go with the PS3? Currently I own a 42" HDTV capable of 720p/1080p output etc so I am guessing hdmi cables are a must...what brands should I be looking at? (No Monster cables plz guys)

Besides the HDMI cables I have no idea of what else I should get (accessory wise) as I have had no prior experience with the system besides what I've read on these boards and elsewhere. So any tips would be much appreciated.

Thx in advance guys :)

tgrace

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2 tgrace
Member since 2006 • 442 Posts
Any HDMI cable will work. You don't need to spend $80 on one. From what I understand the difference between the 40 & 60 is the 40 has 2 less usb ports and no card readers.
theiceman08

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3 theiceman08
Member since 2007 • 498 Posts

if you dont want to spend a lot of money theres nothing wrong with getting a 40 gig. I mean does anyone actually play PS2 games on there PS3. Other than the BC thing theres also the fact that there are only 2 USB ports in the 40 gig but thats no a big deal either, thats the same amount as the XBOX 360.

As for accesorries, you're obviously going to need controllers but you might want to wait until the dual shock 3s come out if you cant live without rumble. Also if you play online multiplayer you have to have a mic. I suggest bluetooth but any mic is fine. I dont now about HDMI cables because im still rockin the standard definition television.

That ought to do it. Welcome

VitamiX

Forum Posts