CapnXtraObvious

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 7

User Lists: 0

#1 CapnXtraObvious
Member since 2012 • 506 Posts

Would a PS3 do the trick? I have no experience with with Playstation consoles, except the 1st, but I heard you can buy PS2 games digitally for PS3 from the PSN Store. Or am I better off just getting a PS2?

xantufrog

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 5

#2 xantufrog  Moderator
Member since 2013 • 17875 Posts

@CapnXtraObvious said:

Would a PS3 do the trick? I have no experience with with Playstation consoles, except the 1st, but I heard you can buy PS2 games digitally for PS3 from the PSN Store. Or am I better off just getting a PS2?

A few answers to this, I guess:

1) if you want to play any* PS2 game on a PS3 you need to get an original "fat" 60GB model from the launch. Unfortunately, they aren't super cheap, because they are collector-friendly due to being the only fully* backwards compatible PS3s

2) some early 80GB models have moderately successfuly PS2 software emulation - depending on what you want to play, they probably can cover your bases (need to google the right serial number)

3) Any PS3 can play PS2 games sold on the PS store for the PS3 platform. They work great, no problem. The catch is not every PS2 game is available this way... I recommend going to the PS store on your browser and checking out the selection before deciding if this is sufficient or not.

4) as an aside, any PS3 can play almost all PS1 games even from disc

*the original 60GB PS3 is fully backwards compatible with the exception of some titles that needed special peripherals - for example you can't play PS2 guitar hero on your 60GB PS3 because the software requires the wireless receivers that plugged into the memory card slots on the original PS2.

Avatar image for CapnXtraObvious
CapnXtraObvious

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3 CapnXtraObvious