how many of you downgraded from vista to windows xp?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

SciDev

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 SciDev
Member since 2005 • 210 Posts

i recently upgraded but have been plagued by compatibility issues. i was wondering how many of you have had to revert back to windows xp

Erandel

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

#2 Erandel
Member since 2004 • 1164 Posts

No, as I don't have Vista yet, but its seems as though your not alone according to a CNET article - many people have found their PC isn't compatible with various peripherals / software / games. In fact, Dell have started resupplying XP machines because of ths issue.

Boba_Fett_3710

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3 Boba_Fett_3710
Member since 2005 • 8783 Posts
I could have had Vista for free as I'm a Computer Science student but I decided to go with XP.
jjfz

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 7

#4 jjfz
Member since 2004 • 336 Posts
most people never upgraded even if they had free upgrades available. Usually driver problems like said by Erandel. Also, there's no point other than the eye candies. I don't think there's any graphic cards that support Dx10 nor any games.
Phelaidar

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#5 Phelaidar
Member since 2005 • 1533 Posts

I have XP and Vista installed.

XP is better, no question.

And about DX10... I honestly think it's going to suffer a lot for being Vista exclusive.

Nvidia and ATI already have DX10 cards ready, but since not to many people are using Vista, I guess there won't be too many DX10-only games.

merjout

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#6 merjout
Member since 2007 • 45 Posts
I have Vista and I can never go back to Xp. Xp looks so old now compared to vista.
JakeArmstrong

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

#7 JakeArmstrong
Member since 2006 • 558 Posts