External Hard Drive- PC and Mac

This topic is locked from further discussion.

metalicelvis

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 0

#1 metalicelvis
Member since 2008 • 716 Posts

Firstly you should bare in mind i've never bought one of these before and im a total noob at it.

I am looking to buy an external hard drive that can hold fair bit of data as i work in animation so im constantly making huge Maya files, animate pro files, photoshop files etc... and I know how unreliable flash memory is, so I want something I can use in the studio and at home.

I have been looking for one but the one thing they all fail to mention is, can they be used on Windows and Mac? My friend has one that he has to format it everytime he wants to use it on a different operating system. Is there one that will just work on both?

Thanks.

gigatrainer

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

#2 gigatrainer
Member since 2006 • 2029 Posts
What external drive you use does not make a difference, what matters is what file system they are formatted to. Just get a normal External drive, format it to NTFS and get MacFuse + Tuxera NTFS so that you can write into NTFS partitions via Mac. This works just fine for me.
mike4realz

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3 mike4realz
Member since 2003 • 2577 Posts
or u can format to FAT32 (use the disk utility that comes with the ext hard drive since windows cannot format hard drives in FAT32 with more than 32GB of space)...the downside of FAT32 is that it can't handle files that are more than 4gb so you may have to use the NTFS file system instead.
metalicelvis

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

#4 metalicelvis
Member since 2008 • 716 Posts

Ok great, thanks guys.

mike4realz

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#6 mike4realz