Computer Totally Freezing During Gameplay, Video Editing, And Multitasking...HELP!!

• 107 results
HarlemVIP

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By HarlemVIP
Member since 2013 • 411 Posts

Okay, I am VERY NEW to all of this...actually, I've never done it before....but apparently, this seems to be the way for me to go in order to get the PC I need. Here's my issue in a nutshell....

I bought my laptop from Dell (got screwed) in 2010....

Core i7 Q840 @ 1.87 GHz 1.87GHz....8GB RAM....64 Bit system....GeForce GT 445M

I have no idea what ANY of that stuff means.

Anyway, this thing can still run with the best of them in my opinion, but when it comes to running games or video editing and multitasking, there's a HUGE problem....IT FREAKING FREEZES!! Now, this wouldn't be a problem if it happened once in a blue moon...but it happens every single time I try to edit videos, even with Windows Movie Maker that came with the damn thing. When I try to convert large videos to a different format, and I'm dumb enough to open any web browser, the entire system freezes and I have to hold the power button to shut down and then wait a long time before I can turn it back on again. When I try to play games....sigh....lets say, I'll try to play a game for more than 5 minutes 100 times...it'll completely freeze on me 99 of the 100. Not the game itself...I'm talking the entire laptop. Once again forcing me to hold the power button.

Does anybody know why this is happening? And before you answer...no, it's not an issue with overheating. I've tried unplugging my USB devices, exiting my virus and malware software...nothing. It all ends up with me holding that damn power button. Can somebody PLEASE help me with this. Because NOBODY has been able to tell me why this thing keeps freezing.

Now, when it comes to building a gaming rig...